Early History of the Grey Eagles

(from left) Sam Ross, Kit Carson, Duncan McCallum, Joe B. Glass, Howard H. West,
Victor J. Miller, Willis Heath Proctor, Edward C. Bowe, James H. Burns, Howard B. Cox, and Robert J. Rentz.
Ernest A. Cutrell attended the meeting, but was not available for the photo, taken In the GO executive conference room.

The Inception of The Grey Eagles

In the spring of 1962, the President of the Kiwis, Boots Johnston Hogate, invited all retired pilots of American Airlines to visit the Kiwi National Convention on May 10, 11 and 12 at the Hotel Roosevelt in New York City. Twelve retired pilots accepted the invitation. They were Willis Heath Proctor, James H. Burns, Joe B. Glass, E. M. “Kit” Carson, Duncan McCullum, Sam R. Ross, Victor J. Miller, Howard B. Cox, Howard H. West, Edward Carmack Bowe, Robert J. Rentz and Ernest A. Cutrell. Being impressed with the strong feeling of fellowship and camaraderie among the Kiwis, the pilots felt a spark igniting their own smoldering desires of six years for an association where they, too, could continue and meld their strong friendships over the future years. These twelve pilots met at the American Airlines General Office Executive Conference Room in New York City on May 11, 1962, at 10:00 AM. They met again at 9:00 AM on May 12, 1962. During these all-day meetings, they adopted a name and a set of bylaws, and thus: THE GREY EAGLES organization was born.

Originally compiled by: Cecil M. Hefner with the help of many Grey Eagle members. Minor changes by Grey Eagle Historian, Joe Sellers, thru Flagship News articles and other media 04/04/2022.